Community News

Friends, family, staff and community members are invited to attend the swearing-in ceremony of newly elected and re-elected school board members on Dec. 19 at 6:15 p.m. in the Anacortes High School Library, 1600 20th Street. 

Newly elected board member Jennie Beltramini joins re-elected members Matt Cutter and Marilyn Hanesworth. AHS junior Sara Kumar also joins the board as a student representative, replacing Jaida Mason. Beltramini replaces Dr. Bill Shaw, who was recognized by the board at the November 7 school board meeting for his contributions to the district. 

Beltramini, a former district math teacher, currently works as a math specialist for non-profit Student Achievement Partners, which focuses on accelerating academic progress for students who face barriers of racism and poverty.

Hanesworth, a software developer, begins her second four-year term on the board.

Cutter, a retired Naval officer and program manager for flight instruction, begins his first four-year term, after being appointed to fill the vacancy left by Karl Yost in March, 2019.

Student representative Kumar joins the other three student representatives who bring an important student perspective to the board’s decisions. 

“Our board values student achievement and success as well as careful fiscal stewardship of the district,” said board president Bobbilyn Hogge. “Our board works well together, and I’m confident we will continue to make important progress on the district’s goals with our new and returning members.” 

The swearing-in ceremony will take place near the beginning of the December 19th meeting, followed by the regular business meeting of the board. 

Community Events