Community News

Of the four seats on the City Council up for election this year, two candidates, incumbent Liz Lovelett and newcomer Anthony Young, are running unopposed. Mayor Laurie Gere also has no opposition in her bid for re-election as mayor.

Last Friday was the deadline to file for election.

Incumbents Matt Miller is opposed by Sara Holahan for Position 4 while Bruce McDougall, who has been in office only since May 1, is opposed by John Schryvers for the seat in Position 5. McDougall is filling out the vacancy created by the resignation of John Archibald.

Lovelett was elected in 2013 to Position 6. Young is running for Position 7, the seat currently occupied by Erica Pickett, who has decided not to run again.

The Council has seven seats, four positions are elected at large; three are elected by district in alternate election cycles. All seats are for four years.

Since the August primary sends the top two candidates in each race to the November general election, none of the Council candidates will be on the primary ballot.

Meanwhile, changes are coming to the Port Commission too.

Incumbent Ray Nivers, currently serving District 1, has decided not to to run for re-election. Three candidates are running for that seat: Ken Goodwin, Matthew Plier and Allan Workman.

Incumbent Bill Short, in Position 2, has picked up an opponent in union leader Jon Petrich.

Two newcomers are running for Position 5; Kathy Pittis and Shane Aggergaard.

Only the Position 1 race will be on then August primary. The top two vote-getters will move to the general election along with Positions 2 and 5 candidates.

Community Events