Community News

2015 ASF scholarship ceremony

Nearly 60 students pose after the Anacortes Schools Foundation annual scholoarship ceremony on Wednesday night at Brodniak Hall.

The graduating high school students, along with a few current college students, were honored with scholarsips totalling $124,000. 

There were new scholarships offered this year.

Amanda Bessler received the Ann M. Nord Nursing Scholarship, given for the first time this year in memory of Ann Nord, who had a lifelong appreciation of education, dedication to community and seriousness of purpose in her chosen profession. She was a nurse for more than 40 years, and her husband, Dr. Nathaniel Nord, established the scholarship in her name.

This is the also first year for Senior College/Beth Prins Community Service Scholarship, given in honor of Beth Elizabeth Prins. “Beth left us prematurely. However, in her allotted time, she gave more that most to her family and to her community,” said her husband, Dr. Robert Prins. The award went to Alex Braatz, who has a strong history of community service.

The Anacortes Schools Foundation was incorporated as a nonprofit charity organization in 1974, with the main purpose of granting scholarships, to students and graduates of the Anacortes School District through the donations of individuals, businesses and corporations within the community. Learn more at their Web site.

Full list of recipients: Amanda Bessler, Chaelee Dalton, Nicholas Papadakis, Alexander Braatz, Autumn Frost, Sophia Aguilar, Tara Augustoni, Brooke Riordan, Matthew Irving, Sage Olson, Nota Tsitsiragos, Jazmin Carpenter, Raymond Palmer, Geoffrey S. Thompson, Lindsey C. Lamphiear, Katherine Baker, Ailin Goff, Brenna Ware, Jordyn Matthews, Elizabeth Sanders, Maria Dale, Lucy Bessler, Evan Grieves, Trevor Derie, Emma Craft, Tye Johnson, Hope Freier, Brooke Writer, Sahale Riedele, Trevor Derie, Kylan Hopper, Peter Smith, Trinity Lang, Daniel Richards, Stephanie Sherman, Geoffrey Thompson, Kyle Bergfalk, Sage Olson, Levi Keltner, Jared Lavine, Joe D'Amelio, Ben Bartlett, Ty Johnson, Ryan Sanderson, Dylan Calvert, Alexandria Hanson, Jared Lavine, Victoria Miller, Tye Johnson, Tyler Baker, Daniel McInerney, Hallie Freeman, Sidney Walbert, Phoenix Gilden, Monica Downs, Jake Farley, Ryan Mielke, Katherine Dyer, Katherine Hicks, Maeve McCracken.

COVID-19 Cases in Skagit County

4,942 Confirmed Skagit Cases
400-409 Total Cases in ZIP 98221

318 Hospitalizations
67 Deaths
44,613 Fully Vaccinated
57,198 Initial Doses Given


379,100 Confirmed Cases Statewide
22,614 Hospitalizations

5,539 Deaths Statewide
2,419,434 Fully Vaccinated
3,368,279 Initial Doses Given

Updated 6 pm, May 5, 2021.

County Map: Confirmed COVID-19 cases by ZIP code in Skagit County. Updated weekly.

Sources: Skagit County Public Health, Washington State Department of Health, New York Times